Hello world!

Welcome to the 10 Minute Game!

The title refers to a game my mother and I used to play in order to accomplish tasks.  Since my mom was a busy teacher, this was her way of getting things done at home.  She would set a timer and we would spend 10 minutes in each room.  Our reward back then was to sit down and play a round of Pay Day, Flinch, or Sorry–just to name a few.  As a child, I loved this–even if I wasn’t crazy about the housework part!

Although I carry out my own version of this tradition today, I’d love to hear how your mom took care of everything when you were young?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Hi!

    Welcome to the world of blogging. Be careful it can be addictive! I love “the ten minute game.” Fabulous idea. We also set timers (usually for 15 min.) We have a marble jar where the boys earn marbles for good behavior. Currently they are working toward a trip to Build a Bear Workshop. So if they have a job and they don’t get it done, they can loose marbles. But if they get it done, they can earn marbles for every minute they’ve spared before the timer rang.

  2. Welcome to blogging. I am a friend from Let’s Get Real. My blog is at http://debbiesdigest.blogspot.com/ and I love comments. I just did a new post today. I may give your idea a try with my kids, though they are older, might be fun to try something new.

    When I was growing up we did chores on Sat. morning since we were at work/school all week (except summers of course). My Mom worked at the school so she was off summers just like us. I don’t remember her using any games or any fun ideas to get us to clean though. We just did it because that is what we did on Sat. Then Sunday was Church and visiting/eating out/driving around/ etc. For one thing I don’t think we had as much stuff when I was growing up as we do in my house now. Plus, homeschooling means we are home all day making messes!!!

    Great start to you blog.

  3. What a great idea… I think MAYBE I could implement something of your 10 minute game with my gang… they LOVE anything that “sounds” like fun. The Bigs, of course, would be “on to me” but they might play along if they saw the Littles actually pitching in more around here… “ça vaut la peine” as they say up here… I think that translates roughly to “it’s worth the pain”… man, literal just doesn’t cut it, does it? LOL!
    Great first post, Sheri!!!
    *Hug* from a fellow LGR’er!
    Shannon

  4. Sheri,
    Welcome friend, first facebook and now this, I am not to very far ahead of you. I am a newbie at this too. I love seeing my Talk-A-Latte friends out there in cybespace. Lotsa luck!!!
    Valerie Neal

  5. Hi, Sheri! I came over from Let’s Get Real to check out your new blog! How exciting!

    I just told a friend today that I need to buy a new timer; the kids lost my other one! I need to get this house under control!

    I have no new ideas for you. I didn’t get a lot of good teaching when I was growing up. I know my Grandma was one of those “I’d rather do it myself” types – I don’t know how she did it with 6 kids.

    How Krissy?

    Blessings, Danielle

Leave a Reply

